Lemon Water



Two Decades And We’re In The Same Place

I was asking my mother for some feedback on my Internal Assessment, one of the Written Tasks for my Spanish class. I’m writing an article about how advertising in Peru is sexist by using the male gaze and depicting women as sexual objects to get their products bought, and how this just reinforces stereotypes and the negative traditional views of women.

Turns out my mom had written nearly exactly the same article, about 20 years ago.

On the one hand, since after I read and compared both and found they are pretty damn similar (except that my mom writes much better in Spanish than I do), it’s probably going to be easier to get a good grade on my paper.

On the other, it just depresses me that we still have the SAME issue, 20 years later, affecting women in the same magnitude. That it is an issue that has passed down to the next generation, my generation, and that I am picking up exactly where my mom left off, since she told me that she is “tired” of the same thing over and over again, of reading the same thing.

20 years, and we are still slogging through these infuriating and stupid, commonly toted, repeated, rephrased, remade, recycled, harmful views of women? You’d think that this would be a thing of the past now.

Gods, the way feminism or womanism is needed is so obvious for me, it is hard to stay quiet when people dismiss the movements as unnecessary. Or when a friend tells me we already have the rights, so we are just being bitchy*.

(Note: Bitch in and of itself is pretty mysoginistic language. You might want to check on that)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Citizen10 says:

    I honestly know nothing about Peru, but even in the USA women are depicted as sexual objects more than ever. It makes me so angry! Yes, we have the right to vote, and we have “broken the glass ceiling,” but are we really equals to men? Movies are about chasing the beautiful woman. Alcohol ads are just pictures of the “sexy” model. More attention is paid to what Hillary Clinton wears than to what she says. It’s really horrible how this issue has been around for so long and nobody has tried to change it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

