Lemon Water



Re: AtLA’s Friky Diky Cast

To the guy who commented as “Michael” in my last post

Your attack on me is laughable. First of all, you assumed that I hate white people, and partly because I am not white; I am white. I am so white that when I wear skirts my friends comment on my whiteness. My family is white, a great number of my friends and my social circle is white, and I do not hate them or myself for being white. I do not need to not be white to see racism, nor to fight it. Besides, the colour of one’s skin should not matter or affect the logic of their argument: I simply am more privileged and so less likely to see racism in my everyday life, because I benefit from it and am not affected by it. (You might want to study the dynamics of privilege, since you seem to be soaking in it). Second of all, attacking me instead of the issues and the logic I raise is a logical fallacy known as ad hominem.

(Additionally, I was only using Harry Potter as an example of possible ways of choosing a cast based on talent, in a BIG movie. It really has little relevance compared to the whole weight of the post, but that this is the only thing that sticks in your mind shows how little you understood what I wrote).

Third, yes, I am critiquing a movie and their choice for a cast, because it shows racist undertones and considerations. I have not seen the movie, or most of the actors. Please note that I specifically mentioned that I would refrain from commenting on the acting ability of those cast for Katara and Aang (and even for Sokka) because I don’t know enough from them, apart from their ethnicity (and not even that for Aang).

When you say I am “completely in the dark”, that I “don’t know what the movie is about, have no idea about the storylines, or scripts, or what has been added or subtracted”, I want to laugh. I have seen all the Avatar episodes, do know the storyline, and so have a pretty damn reasonable idea of what the movie will contain (finding Aang, freeing him, Zuko finds him, the chases, Aang has to master waterbending, the comet!!!, are the basic elements), and I am not in the dark. True, I don’t know what specific changes have been made to the script, but I do know the casting, and it is the casting I am critiquing – not the script.

And here I would argue that I do have a reason to hate the cast. And it is here when you completely miss the point of the post. Let me quote rawles, as s(he) probably phrases this better:


“Taking a show where the cultures and the world that the characters all hail from are clear, blatant, confirmed analogues and amalgams of a diverse variety of various Asian cultures, where the characters have Asian names, where their magical martial arts styles that are the expressions of their very souls are Asian martial arts, where every single written word is actually IN CHINESE and then casting white people to play the main characters is offensive.”

Let me point the clueless to this wonderful post by vagabond_sal, because again s(he) says the same thing, and a bit more, better than I can.

I have the right to express my disappointment and provide constructive critique in the hopes of making Paramount Pictures and Avatar the live action movie a more inclusive movie that doesn’t discriminate against race – because racism is wrong, and should be stopped in all of its forms – but rather, welcomes diversity and makes positive of it. I have the right to expect that people of colour are fairly represented in the media, although it is currently not. And since it isn’t, I sure as hell am going to demand for it.

BTW: Batman and Heath Ledger is not an appropriate comparison, because it was a white character being played by a white actor. Please, avoid false comparisons – another logical fallacy. Instead of actually analyzing the logic and the arguments, you are trolling my blog and my person. Who was it that was talking about invulnerable internet tower and hurling insults?

“In the end, one loses an open mind, when they open their mouth.”

PS: Why did people get upset over Heath Ledger as the Joker again? I don’t remember that angst. And please, let it somebody other than Michael that informs me about this.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Writing Gives You Power: AtLA’s Cast, And What You Can Do « Lemon Water pingbacked on 8 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * Steph says:

    hahahaha PO.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * TallyCola says:

    Game over, you win.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * raire says:

    Thanks guys : 3

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Channing says:

    I have to say I’ve loved reading your intelligent posts about Shyamalans latest Cinematic F*ck Up, and I think people had a problem with it because of the Bokeback Mountain thing (Which made no sense becaue he did an Oscar Worthy performance).

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  5. * raire says:

    Thanks for taking the time to read Channing, and for the info (It sounds kind of silly to me… Brokeback Mountain? Geeze.). I’ll be sure to link to your screenplay, it sounds interesting and I’ll be keeping track : D

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  6. * Channing says:

    Thank you so much! I’m writing the second act of the movie as we speak! I’d love to say more but if by some miracle that my movie reboot idea is accepted and I get to make these movies, I’d hate to spoil anything about it.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

