Lemon Water



Dad and Books!

My dad came back from his business trip to Boston, which makes me a very, very happy kid. Additionally, he talked to a trustee of Mount Holyoke, who reassured him and through him me, that I’m probably going to have a good time getting into colleges. I certainly hope so.

My dad is baaaack *sings* I really missed him, especially since soon I’m going to have to go away to college, and well, I’m going to miss my family. He also got me some two shirts even though I didn’t ask him for any – I specified books, and maybe a pashmina, jajaja! He’s been amazing so far, no fights etc, and I’m just… overjoyed his back.

THE CRUX of this post, however, is the list of books my dad got on his trip! Here they are! I can’t wait to read them!

My Requests

He wasn’t able to get all of my requests, obviously, but he did amazingly well. I gave him two authors, a few specific recommendations from Mr. Pruzinksy, my English Teacher, and requested some books about Third Culture Kids. My dad was really impressed with Mr. P’s recommendations, as well as my request for Earth Democrac. He plans on reading them as well, so I guess these are going to become family books.

  • Earth Democracy – Vandana Shiva
  • What is the What – Dave Eggers
  • Drown – Junot Diaz
  • Terrier – Tamora Pierce
  • Unrooted Childhoods; Memoirs of Growing Up Global – Anthology
  • Third Culture Kids: The Experience of Growing Up Among Worlds – David C. Pollock and Ruth E. Van Reken
  • A Gift of Dragons – Anne McCaffrey

Family

  • Dreams from My Father – Barrack Obama [Everybody is going to be reading this…]
  • The River of Doubt – Candice Millard [He got this for my brother but really recommends it to me as well]
  • 2009 State of the World: into a warming world – the Worldwatch Institute [We are getting a lot of books and reading regarding this subject in my family. My dad says this was an amazing book.]

Of course, he brought magazines and a few candies as well, but it’s the books that I like the most. Besides, I’m glad I can hug my dad again, and I’m all the more aware how I’m going to miss my family.

Gods above and below, I am grateful for my family and life.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Steph says:

    oh dear, YOU SPELLED HIS LAST NAME WRONG!

    don’t let him see this…

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

