Lemon Water



[The Wrock Project] Installment IV [C]

Onwards, brave Wrockers! We will face the tumultuous waves of untuned instruments, the tempestuous winds of breathy, whiny voices, and the tortuous sounds of beats without rhythm all to find the Good Bands that make you stop, smile, and then belt out the lyrics at the top of your lungs!

I like being dramatic. Anyway, this is the installment of the Cs!

  • The Caradoc Dearborns. Hun, please take a few guitar lessons and leave the singing to somebody else. I like your harmonica, though.
  • Catchlove. The rewritten cover of “Kids of (is it “in” or “of?”) America” is pretty neat. It’s fairly good quality overall, really. Definitely worth a listen to see if you will be into their music. Or his music—I can’t tell.
  • Cedrella Black has only one song, “Bella’s Lament,” which is seems to be sung all right, but is a bit overdramatic for what I’m used to. I mean, I can see the song playing in a movie while the main character plays on the piano and pours out her heart after heartbreak of some sort or… jaja, yeah. Give it a try, though.
  • Cedric and the Gravestones is a pretty amateurish band. I also had a fit of giggles when they got to a part in their song “Dementors” that went “and they’ll suck, and they’ll suck, and they’ll suck your soul.” A fit of immaturity.
  • The Cedric Diggorys are a distinctly different band than the others; they have a far more grungy, rough sound. Punk. I had fun, although I did get a bit depressed.
  • Celestial Warmbottom was a real treat! She has a wonderful, powerful, and expressive voice. And you should listen to her saucy love songs = )
  • Celestina Moldubeck Wardbeck was rather cute and lighthearted. Too bad I don’t understand French, but it didn’t stop me from listening = )
  • Celestina Warbeck was fun, but at times the pitch really made me wince. Ow.
  • Chaos of Phoenix is creative, but I dislike the singing. I’m sorry; I do like the composition, but not the execution.
  • Charlie and the Dragon. I love their song “Nymphadora.” The other song didn’t do much for me (other than the fact that it was Twilight vs. HP and OF COURSE HP won, because Twilight doesn’t even begin to compare… This does not open this blog post to flamers.)
  • Chasing Quaffles. I can tell you guys had loads of fun and put some serious effort into this. Maybe in the future, but for right now, I’m just going to move along.
  • The Cheering Charms. Same as above. Meh.
  • Chi Chi Chang, you sound pretty cute, but I have no idea what you are saying.
  • I actually listen to Death Metal on occasion, but Children of Godrics Hollow is just pretty fucking terrible.
  • Chimaera Scamander: A Huffle Diary. I have no idea what is going on here.
  • The Chinese Chomping Cabbages is… eh. Just eh.
  • Chinese Fireball. Meh. Boring.
  • Chloe Nothing. Add one more to the boring streak. She’s just whiny.
  • Cho and the Changs. So far there is only a preview, so there isn’t much I can say or opine about (is opine a word?).
  • The Cho Chang Gang is all right, I suppose. I do have “Quidditch Tomorrow” stuck in my head, but I’m not too happy about that.
  • The Chocolate Frogs did better than the previous bands. I must admit that until I got to “Anyone Else But You” I was really put off by the monotone singing, but the instrumentals and lyrics are pretty decent. And I am impressed by the number of songs.
  • Chocolate in the Library. The rewritten lyrics were fun, but I just can’t listen. They also got an Usher song stuck in my head, urgh.
  • Clavenraw, I don’t understand a single word in your song and the repeated off-shadowy echo thing is really annoying.
  • Colin and the Creeveys were a bit whiny (which makes sense, it is Colin = ) ) but my main problem was the synthetic music.
  • Colours in the Cauldron was ok. Just ok.
  • Confusing Concoction wasn’t very melodic.
  • The Conjuring Cauldrons was just eh. I did like that there was a “Tribute to Trelawney”.
  • The Cornish Pixies. There is another band by that name, but their song wouldn’t play, so no review is forthcoming. This one was funny – it is definitely a good group of friends having fun, and I enjoyed their rewritten cover “Avada Kedavra,” but this is more of an amusement band than music I want to listen to.
  • A Couple of Harrys. I can honestly believe this is Harry singing to himself quietly inside the cupboard. There is a type of nostalgia and naivety to the songs in their simplicity. The music is very… country tuney? “Hagrid’s Legacy” was actually pretty interesting.
  • There is something appealing about Crabbe & Goyle‘s monotone songs and the guitar chords and how utterly ridiculously stupid the songs and lyrics are, duh, because Crabbe & Goyle are terrible people, and so… so smart. Anyways, worth a shot for the short laugh.
  • And then we have Crabbe and the Goyles. This is another beast entirely, as can be seen by their entirely innuendo-laden song “Basilisk”. I mean, if you have rap-ish song whose chorus goes among the likes of, “Take a look take a look at my Basilisk, isn’t it long, yeah, isn’t it thick”, well, you can draw your own conclusions. They’re damn catchy, unfortunately, because I cannot get that chorus out of my head. And if somebody ever tells me that they want to “open your chamber of secrets, girl”, I will punch them. And “just my snake, my girl, and me” is hilarious. Goddammit, against my better judgment I LIKE THIS BAND A LOT. Although “Ministry of Meh” is getting really repetitive – oh wait he’s doing this on purpose? Ok, I get it, please stop saying “repetitive songs” on and on please. PLEASE. And this is an incredibly superior parody of Cee Lo Green’s “Fuck You”. Ok, this band was great for the first two songs and now I am completely tired of it. (Yes, I do write these reviews as I listen to the bands.)
  • When I read the name Creevey Crisis, I was not expecting metalish rock music. There you go. They’re pretty decent, although they ended up being more background music to which I shook my head and muttered “Sword of Gryffindor!!” in time with the song while doing some homework. I like them enough to suggest checking them out however.
  • Crookshank, despite forgetting the “s,” is another cute band. I mean, one of its songs is dedicated to a chocolate frog’s lament.
  • The Crossovers is very varied in their attempts at harmony. Umm…. hmm…. eh.
  • Crucius was, as can be expected from the name, probably created to strike fear into the hearts of the enemies of the Dark Lord. In some ways, this is hard to do when people can’t understand what your grunting is. On the other hand, if that grunting comes from the mouth of a Giant, that would probably be frightening enough. And that is an approximation of the appeal of this music (zero).
  • The Cruciatus Curse, however, could kind of be trashy Wizardpop. We’ve got Ke$ha’s song dedicated to Slytherins (you know she would be that trashy Slytherin trying to be cool enough to hangout with the Malfoys by throwing parties and singing for them). That said, “Slytherock” is what I’m going to play at that Quidditch Dance Party I’ve been planning for a while. I’m not as impressed with the other songs, although “Squib” was properly adapted to the original “Creep” song. I do enjoy the mood created by “Tale of the Deathly Hallows.”
  • Crucio! at the Yule Ball sounded really cool based on their name. However, their cover of “I Will Survive,” , is a bit lackluster.
  • Crucio Crucio has a nice, single instrumental song, that if it were longer, I would use as a soothing track despite the fact that the track name alludes to Fenrir Greyback.
  • But ahoy, here come the The Crumple-Horned Snorkacks! Except there are only 31 seconds of a song there. And I like what I hear, but there is nothing else!
  • The Curse Breakers is genuinely good. As in, she decently sings, the instruments have decent melody, and the lyrics are interesting Definitely go through all her songs!

And that, my dear almost non-existent readers, is how the letter C of Wizard Rock Bands ends! I count 38 bands… and I’m only at C… Hmm… maybe somebody wants to help me out with the whole Wrock Project? Send an owl!


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Annikia says:

    I can’t wait ’til you get to ‘Ministry of Magic’. Best band ever.

    | Reply Posted 13 years ago
    • * raire says:

      Thank you! I actually have heard a few of their songs (it is part of what got me started into Wrock) because my friend loves them = ) But I really look forwards to a full review of their music!

      | Reply Posted 13 years ago


Leave a comment